I received an e-mail today that appeared to have been sent from Barclays Bank. The e-mail said there was an issue with my account and that I should follow a link to confirm my details. I hold my business and personal accounts with Barclays so the e-mail got my attention however I very soon realised it was a phishing scam. The link sent me to a website that looked identical to the Barclays online banking page which I use daily. The giveaway was in the address line.

http://ibank-barclays.cargraphiz.com/olb/r/LoginMember.html

The main domain name above is cargraphiz.com. The perpetrator has used ibank-barclays as a sub-domain. Cargraphiz is actually registered in the US and as expected there is very little detail about the registrant.

You may well receive emails that look like they’ve come from your bank and ask you to disclose all of your security information. Don’t: These types of e-mail are very likely generated by criminals looking to steal your money.

Beware! If you are unsure or require advice, give us a call, we are always happy to help.

No related posts.